Khanakul-II Development Block


  1. Block Location:- Latitude ->22.679



  1. Geographical area:- In Sq. Km-121.74 Square Kilometer
  2. Climate:- Tropical Savanna Climate
  3. Soil type:- Alluvial
  4. Soil structure:- Loamy
  5. Important rivers:- Rupnarayan, Mundeswari,


History of the Block:-Khanakul-II

It is one of the 18 Community Development Blocks under the district of Hooghly  and one of the CD Blocks among 6 CD Block under Arambagh Sub-Division. The area covered by this block is 121.78 Square Kilometer and surrounded by River Rupnarayan in the west flowing from north to south, District – Howrah from east to south and Khanakul –I CD Block in the north of this block. The other side of river Rupnarayan is the border of Daspur –II Block under Ghatal Sub-Division of Paschim Medinipur District.


The background of few eminent personalities like Pandit Iswar Chandra Vidyasagar, Raja Rammohun Roy, Bhudev Mukhopadhayay and Dr. Sankari Prashad Basu are associated with Khanakul area.


Kaji Saukat Osman the litterateur of Bangladesh born at Sabalsinghapur village in 1917. Natibpur is the birth place of Manishi Bhudeb Mukhopadhayay and the original place of residence for Dr. Sankari Prashad Basu.


The names of village Rajhati, Senhat, Bandar (Dhanyaghori), Natibpur can be seen in literatures and in the past these places were renowned as important commercial places. The Rajrajeswar Temple established in 1874 by Mitra families at Senhat and The Vishalakshmi Temple & Singha Bahini Temple established in 1800 century by Pariyal family at Rajhati village, Natt Mandir are the centre of attraction in local area. Bandar (Dhanyaghori) was used as a Port in those days for Silk Trading Industries. Several personalities from this area took part in the movement for Freedom of India.


The natural beauty of Kamdebchak (Palaspai) by the side of river Mundeswari attracts many people from neighboring areas and used as a picnic spot for tourists.


There are 11 Nos. Gram Panchayats covering 53 Mouza (Villages) under this Block.


There are some people of these area engaged with cottage and small industries namely Dhup Making, Jorry-Chikon, Pottery etc. but there are no medium/major industries within this Block area.


Khanakul –II is a flood prone block as this is a low land area. During rainy days the river Rupnarayan and Mundeswari overflooded this block area and this block affected by loss of property, lives and crops. As a result the farmers of this Block area mostly depend on Boro crops 3 Nos. Gram Panchayats namely Dhanyaghori, Jagatpur and Marokhana are badly affected by erosion of river Rupnarayan.


Polling Station No. – 135 to 306 of 202-Khanakul Assembly Constituency under 29-Arambagh Parliamentary Constituency fall under this Block.  There are 216 Nos (172 Nos Main + 44 Nos Auxiliary) Polling Booths located in 119 Premises.


Sl No Tender Details Start Date End Date View
Sl.No Subject Link
1 Kanyashree
2 E District
3 Banglar Bhumi
4 Aikyashree Scholarship
5 Caste Certificate
6 Anandadhara
7 Saboojsathi
8 Krishak Bandhu
9 Khadya Sathi
10 Swasthya Sathi
11 Self Help Group & Self Employment
12 Swami Vivekananda Merit Cum Means Scholarship
13 Oasis Scholarship

    CAPTCHA Image


    Sl No Department Contact Person Phone No e-Mail
    1 Block Dev Office BDO 9051969444
    2 BAY BIO 9832271116
    3 NREGS Jt. BDO 9874170458
    4 Swasthyasathi BIO 9832271116
    5 Engg Section SAE(BP) 9836690119
    6 Disaster Management BDMO 8172047989
    7 Health JT. BDO 9874170458
    8 Caste Certificate Ins BCW 9800549050
    9 samobathi PA&AO 8617836115
    10 Kanyashree Data Manager 7001964565
    11 Rupashree Data Manager 8101392538
    12 sikhashree SEO 7001904248
    Sl No GP Name Prodhan Name Contact No E mail ID
    1 Chingra Kartick Isar 9647121728
    2 Dhanghori Binapani Bhowmick 9083152840
    3 Jagatpur Prabhas Shaw 9775075723
    4 Marokhana Habal Mandal 8768259986
    5 Natibpur-I Barnali Das (Adhikari) 9733570441
    6 Natibpur-II Rina Bhuniya 9083252920
    7 Palaspai-I Jhumpa Sing Karak

    8 Palaspai-II Sandhya Das 8345847856
    9 Rajhati-I Aktara Begam

    10 Rajhati-II Shri Samir Pramanik

    11 Sabalsinghapur Iqubal Hossain Khan